Ireland

Memory Lane

The trinity that makes up my version of Dublin: family, city streets, and Guinness.

Our weekend trip to Dublin was the last excursion for my study abroad group (sad I know). But we definitely went out with a bang. We turned Dublin into one last ultimate hurrah.

On Thursday we boarded the bus with our favorite bus driver, Paul, and we took a roundabout way to Dublin.

First, we stopped at Clonmacnoise Monastery. It may have been very cold and windy enough for your hair to be flying all over the place, but it was nice to walk around because so much of my theology research revolved around this particular monastery.

Our next stop for the day was Maynooth University where our group’s theology professor Salvador Ryan teaches. Maynooth has an absolutely beautiful campus. There were moments where I felt like I was back at St. John’s University instead of being abroad in Ireland.

Thursday night we stayed at a “farm hostel” in Slane. When I say this place was in the middle of nowhere, I mean there was no civilization in sight for miles. The only living beings close by were the donkeys, chickens and goats. But we made the most of it and played card games all night.

The following morning we packed up and made our way to Newgrange.

Our group loves making random stops, especially at sheep and wool centers. Though we have visited four sheep and wool centers, each place tells a different story. The art is always unique and each owner has something distinct to share with us.

At the sheep and wool center near Newgrange, the store owner and crafter named Alison taught us how to make felt pictures.

When we finally arrived at Newgrange, the mounded mesolithic tomb did not look like much on the outside. It appeared to be nothing more than a grassy mound with white rock walls.

But it definitely ended up impressing us.

The history and inside structure of Newgrange were spectacular. The structure is older than the Giza Pyramids and it possess materials that would of had to be transported from all over Ireland in order to be built.

We were even able to venture inside the passage tomb and admire the famous spiral symbol in the back of the chamber. The corbeled ceiling was fascinating. We were told that Archaeologists are nervous to do too much excavating in the chamber for fear that removing just one rock could send the corbeled roof crashing down.

Our guide even tuned off the passage and chamber lights and gave us a simulation of the famous illuminated passageway that occurs on the winter solstice. It was truly amazing thinking about how intricately and intentionally the tomb was built.

After visiting Newgrange, it was finally time to hit the road to Dublin. I was so excited to finally be in the city because I was meeting my dad.

When I stepped off the bus and into our hostel building, there was my dad waiting for me. I dropped my two duffel bags immediately and ran to embrace him in a hug. Though I have not been homesick once since being in Ireland, that does not mean that I did not deeply miss my dad.

Not only was I thrilled to finally hug my dad after almost three months, I was also anxious for the weekend ahead of us. For those who do not know, my dad is originally from Dublin, Ireland so being able to experience my dad’s home with him had me feeling extra excited.

And, I will admit, I was also excited to finally get my phone replacement. I survived three weeks without it – I had relied on other people to take pictures, I had been using email to communicate with people back home, and I was logged in to my Instagram account on other people’s phones to message my friends. All of that could finally come to an end.

That evening, my dad and my aunt Jean (who lives just outside of Dublin), joined our study abroad group for a tour of the Guinness Storehouse. I had previously been on the Guinness Tour during my family’s first trip to Ireland in 2012, but I was too young to even desire a taste of the Irish beer.

This time around, I definitely wanted a pint. My dad was over-the-moon to finally be able to share a good pint of Guinness in Ireland with his daughter.

Not only was the Guinness fantastic, but the night-time view of the city from Guinness’ Gravity Bar was fantastic too.

Later Friday night, my friend Morgan and I went out on our own exploration of the city… okay pubs. We went to Oliver St. John’s Gogarty, Kehoes Pub, and The Temple Bar Pub. That night is marked as one of my favorite nights out while abroad – good company, good conversations, and good atmospheres.

Saturday morning one of our Irish professors met us at the Spire of Dublin for a walking tour of the city. We went to the Post Office, across the Ha’penny bridge, the top of Grafton Street, the Mollie Malone statue, Trinity College, City Hall, Christ Church Cathedral and St. Patrick’s Cathedral.

I met my dad and my aunt afterwards for mid-morning tea and scones at the Queen of Tarts – still the absolute best scones I’ve ever tasted.

My dad took me to his old rugby club St. Mary’s RFC later that day. We caught the end of the St. Mary’s versus Banbridge game just in time to witness St. Mary’s win.

Of course we had to stay for a celebratory pint (can you guess what it was….Guinness). My dad began introducing me to all of his old rugby teammates and coach… then one pint of Guinness led to another and another and another.

Oh those old fellas and their Guinness…if you were walking around empty handed, everyone was offering to buy you another round. We ended up staying at the rugby club for over 4 hours.

My dad was thriving in his element. I had never seen him be so social, bouncing around from one group of men to another. It was a really special moment for me to share with my dad – I loved being able to experience the rugby club with him. I could just picture him back in the day with a head full of hair and a rugby jersey.

Some people from Banbridge joined in on the after-game fun. They performed karaoke and the men were spinning me around for a dance while singing American Pie karaoke style – that’s what happens when you’re one of three females in a room full of men. But I was having the time of my life with all the “old guys.” My dad even told me that back in his day he used to get up in front of everyone and karaoke too.

I left the rugby club before my dad did to rejoin my study abroad group. Who knows how long he ended up staying.

My friends and I went out to the pubs once again. Though we tried really hard to stay away from touristy pubs, we wound up right back at the doorstep of The Temple Bar Pub. What can I say, the visual aesthetic of the place kept drawing us in. It was so extravagantly decorated for Christmas.

Sunday morning I walked up and down Grafton Street with my friend Sami and we stopped at Bewley’s for coffee.

My cousin, Siobhan, who is a psychotherapist, life coach, and author of the book The Burnout Solution, came to speak with my study abroad group. Siobhan usually guest speaks at corporate events, but took the time out of her busy weekend to sit down with us students.

She spoke with us about managing stress, avoiding burnout, and practicing mindfulness. Though I have family bias, I definitely think you should check out her book or her Instagram: @twistingthejar. She’s a very wise individual whom I believe could all teach us a little something about taking care of ourselves.

My dad, aunt, cousin and I went out for lunch at The Dropping Well. I had a proper (and enormous) Irish meal – a pint of Guinness (yes, again), fish & chips, and rhubarb pie for dessert.

That meal kept me uncomfortably full for the rest of the day, but it was worth every bite. My only regret is that I didn’t join the clean-plate club.

The bus ride home was a quiet one because we were all overly exhausted and some people were in the beginning stages of getting sick. I had been surviving on a total of 6 hours of sleep for the whole weekend so finally being able to sit and relax was a godsend.

Dublin was so memorable for me between spending time with my family and exploring the city with my friends. But it does break my heart that Dublin was our last excursion. It is really hitting me how quickly our program is coming to an end. Beginning tomorrow, Wednesday, I only have 9 days left in Galway.

I’m very much in denial. I really, really, really do not want to come home. Yes, I miss my family and friends, but studying abroad has been the experience of a lifetime. Who knows… maybe I’ll “accidentally” miss my flight(;

But it’s not over yet, and I plan to make the most of my remaining days in Ireland.

Leave a comment